படிக்க எடுத்துக்கொள்ளும் நேரம்: 1 நிமிடம்

While the earlier Assembly saw 271 MLAs or 67% crorepatis, this time there has been a jump of 13 percentage points.

As the BJP got a sweeping mandate with 312 seats in the recently concluded Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections, data analysis by election watchdog Association for Democratic Reforms shows that 80% of MLAs in the new Assembly are crorepatis.

The MLAs with the most assets are the BSP’s Shah Alam Urf Guddu Jamali, from Mubarakpur, with over Rs. 118 crore; Vinayshankar from the Chillupar constituency with over Rs. 67 crore; and Rani Pakshalika Singh of the BJP with over Rs. 58 crore.

Of the 92 re-elected MLAs, the average assets stands at Rs. 8.62 crore. This is an 87% increase from the average assets of re-elected MLAs in 2012. In case of BJP, 79.89% of its elected members were billionaires.

One hundred and fourteen of 312 BJP MLAs have criminal charges against them and 83 have serious charges. Ashok Kumar Rana of BJP, elected from Dhampur, has been charged with a crime against women.